Curing Olives

I have a lot of Olive trees in my area and I always see so many of them just wasting on the ground, so this year I decided to do an experiment by picking some of these olives and trying to cure them myself.  From what I read, it’s a lengthy process but curiosity has me giving it a try.  I will need keep an update every so often of the progress.

So the first step was to wash and sort through the olives.

Then I scored them and put them in a jar and filled it with fresh filtered water.

The water needs to be changed daily (some ever say 2 times a day) for 5 days to 6 weeks.  So I will take a taste after 5 days and see if I need to keep going for as long as 6 weeks. Here are some pictures:

Washing and Sorting the Olives

Washing and Sorting the Olives

Olives in Water

Olives in Water

Then after soaking them for however long it takes to remove the bitterness, I brine them with 1 part kosher salt to 10 parts water and some recipes say to add lemon or vinegar for flavor and to keep it free of any pathogens.  Will keep you posted.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

